Current Weather

You are here

Bombers’ Broer wins title at Storm Invite

ELDORA – The Ballard wrestling team produced one champion, one runner-up and pair of third-place finishers at the Storm Invitational Saturday in Eldora.

Mitchell Broer – the No. 4 wrestler at 132 pounds according to The Predicament – took first at 132 during the Storm Invite for Ballard. Ethan Estabrooks came in second at 120 and Louie Howlett and Tyler Kyhl were third at 126 and 195 respectively for the Bombers, who placed fourth out of nine teams with 133 points.

In his opening match Broer pinned Aplington-Parkersburg’s Lincoln Thompson in one minute 42 seconds and he followed that with an 11-2 major decision win over Central Springs’ Ethan Blanchard in the semifinals.

That set up a showdown with eighth-ranked Tad Chapin of Denver-Tripoli in the finals. Broer was able to control his match with Chapin, defeating him by a 9-2 decision to improve to 24-3 on the season.

Estabrooks went 2-1 on the day. He reached the finals at 120 by pinning Denver-Tripoli’s Dakota Klingfuss in 1:20 and Central Springs’ Matthew McDonough in 3:29.

In the championship match, Estabrooks suffered a 17-8 major decision loss at the hands of Greene County’s Jacob Challen. The setback put Estabrooks at 14-8 on the season.

Howlett was 2-1 at 126.

Howlett received an opening-round bye and then lost by fall to sixth-ranked Dylan Forkner of Greene County. Howlett came back to pin Hampton-Dumont’s Kainan Braun in 2:21 in the consolation round; he then stuck Aplington-Parkersburg’s Logan Hovenga in just 28 seconds to claim the third-place match.

Kyhl went 3-1 at 195.

Kyhl claimed a 3-2 decision over Isaiah Noelck of Hampton-Dumont to open the tournament, and then he suffered a loss by fall to Clarksville’s Matt Negen. Kyhl bounced back to pin Iowa Falls-Alden’s Zach Duncan in 5-4 seconds and edge Noelck by a 5-4 in a rematch for third.

Rachel Watters and Ben Claussen took fourth at 145 and 182 respectively for Ballard. Watters went 3-2 and Claussen finished 2-2.

Watters scored a pin over Aplington-Parkersburg’s Steffen Seys, a forfeit over BCLUW-South Hardin’s Ryland DuChane and an 8-4 decision over Hampton-Dumont’s Johnny Guerrero. Claussen pinned BCLUW-South Hardin’s Geno Morris and pulled off a 5-4 victory over Central Springs’ Nick Miller for his two victories.

Bailey Heinen (106), John Fleenor (113), Andrew Rasmussen (160) and Alex Silberstein (220) each placed fifth for Ballard. Rasmussen was 3-2, Silberstein finished 2-2 and Heinen and Fleenor both went 1-2.

Derek Wright took sixth at 138 with a 1-3 record and Will May also picked up a victory at 170 for Ballard.

Central Springs claimed the team championship with 174 points. Clarksville and Hampton-Dumont tied for second after each scored 149 points and Greene County finished right behind Ballard in fifth with a score of 131.

Final team scores: 1. Central Springs 174, 2. (tie) Clarksville and Hampton-Dumont 149, 4. Ballard 133, 5. Greene County 131, 6. Denver-Tripoli 117.5, 7. Aplington-Parkersburg 114, 8. Iowa Falls-Alden 92, 9. BCLUW-South Hardin 90.5.

Individual results – Ballard

106 pounds – 5. Bailey Heinen (1-2); 113 – 5. John Fleenor (1-2); 120 – 2. Ethan Estabrooks (2-1); 126 – 3. Louie Howlett (2-1); 132 – 1. Mitchell Broer (3-0); 138 – 6. Derek Wright (1-3); 145 – 4. Rachel Watters (3-2); 152 – Eli Hartog (0-2); 160 – 5. Andrew Rasmussen (3-2); 170 – Will May (1-2); 182 – 4. Ben Claussen (2-2); 195 – 3. Tyler Kyhl (3-1); 220 – 5. Alex Silberstein (2-2); 285 – Kenny Randolph (0-2).