Yahoo Weather

You are here

CMB girls take third at Greene County Invite

Deutsch places sixth for Raider boys

JEFFERSON – The Collins-Maxwell-Baxter girls’ cross country team turned in a top-three finish and the Raider boys had two runners place in the top 12 individually in Class A at the Greene County Invitational Sept. 12 in Jefferson.

The CMB girls had all five of its scored runners place in the top 25, finishing with 89 points. South Hamilton won the Class A girls’ title with 42 points, Panorama took second with a score of 46 and Audubon was fourth out of eight scored teams with 94 points.

Chasity Moody and Heather Jessen were neck and neck as the top runners for the CMB girls. Moody came in 14th with a 4-kilometer time of 17 minutes, 48.10 seconds and Jessen clocked in at 17:48.28 to place 15th.

Chantel Maxwell took 21st in 18:15.02 and Stephanie Twohey completed the course in 18:18.69 to place 24th for CMB. Winter Brown was the final scored Raider as she crossed the finish line in 18:22.16 to place 25th.

In the boys’ race CMB finished fifth out of 10 teams with 125 points. Panorama won with a score of 70 and Ogden took second with 93 points.

Mark Deutsch turned in an outstanding individual day for the CMB boys. He completed the boys’ 5-kilometer course in 18 minutes, 26.48 seconds to finish sixth overall.

Colin Thompson also ran well for the CMB boys. Thompson crossed the finish line in 18:53.54 to end up 12th overall.

Calvin Jones ran a 34th-place time of 20:09.72, Eric Flooden-Hall clocked in at 20:47.35 to come in 43rd and Drake Caple was 44th in 20:47.88 as the other scored Raider runners.

Audubon’s Megan Deist and West Marshall’s Nathan Bradley were the individual champions at Jefferson. Deist won the girls’ race in 16:28.13 and Bradley took the boys’ title in 17:14.63.

Final team scores – Class A

Girls: 1. South Hamilton 42 points, 2. Panorama 46, 3. CMB 89, 4. Audubon 94, 5. Exira-EHK 118, 6. West Marshall 159, 7. Southeast Webster-Grand 166, 8. Colo-Nesco 215.

Boys: 1. Panorama 70, 2. Ogden 93, 3. South Hamilton 101, 4. Des Moines Christian 105, 5. CMB 125, 6. IKM 129, 7. West Marshall 131, 8. Colo-Nesco 174, 9. Audubon 211, 10. Paton-Churdan 268.

Individual results – CMB

Girls (4-kilometer): 14. Chasity Moody, 17:48.10; 15. Heather Jessen, 17:48.28; 21. Chantel Maxwell, 18:15.02; 24. Stephanie Twohey, 18:18.69; 25. Winter Brown, 18:22.16; 30. Mackenzie Klemme, 18:53.03; 31. Anna Jones, 19:07.46.

Boys (5-kilometer): 6. Mark Deutsch, 18:26.48; 12. Colin Thompson, 18:53.54; 34. Calvin Jones, 20:09.72; 43. Eric Flooden-Hall 20:47.35; 44. Drake Caple, 20:47.88; 55. Brock Johnston, 21:23.8959. Connor Johnson, 22:00.95.

The Tri-County Times website is available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access the website at no additional charge.